New Castle,


Municipal Building
230 N. Jefferson Street
New Castle, PA  16101-2220

Our Form Of Government and Departments

The City of New Castle was established and is governed by the provisions of the Optional Third Class City Charter Law under a "strong mayor" form of government.  This form of government was created by the voters in 1966.  The mayor is the chief executive and administrative official and a city council, comprised of five members who are elected at large, constitute the legislative branch.  The mayor is primarily responsible for the proper administration of the city and serves for a term of four years.  City Council is primarily responsible for legislation and approving contracts, with each member serving a staggered term of four years.

The affairs of city government are administered at the discretion of the mayor, through the fire and police departments, and the departments of administration, code enforcement, recreation and parks, and community development.  Department heads and the chiefs of the fire and police departments are appointed by the mayor with the approval of city council.  The legal affairs of the city are overseen by the city solicitor who is also appointed by the mayor with the consent of council.

The public officials who are appointed by the mayor are to implement policy and administer their responsibilities consistent with the wishes of the mayor.  Department heads, as well as the chiefs of the police and fire departments, and the city solicitor, serve and may be removed at the pleasure of the mayor.

City Council is the governing body that implements legislation recommended by its members or suggested by the administration.  Laws are created by ordinance introduced by a member of council and passed by a majority of its members.  Council may also act by adopting a resolution.  The mayor may veto unwanted ordinances which may thereafter be overridden by a vote of four members of council.  City council is assisted by a City Clerk and a Deputy.

The needs of the city are also served by the treasurer and controller, both of whom are elected officials and serve four year terms.  The primary responsibility of the city treasurer is to collect taxes and related revenues.  The duty of the city controller is to ensure that all public expenditures are legitimate and warranted.

[Home] [Calendar] [Directory] [History] [Downtown] [Cultural] [Transportation] [Community] [Departments] [Health] [Education] [Links] [Events] [Employment] [Recycling] [Recycling 2017]